top of page
Search
  • Mohamed Ghihan Jiffry

Cryptocurrency and Blockchain: An Introduction to Digital Currencies


I recently enrolled for a course on Digital Currency from this MOOC's website called Coursera. Coursera is a massive open online course (that's where the word 'MOOC' comes from) provider that offers online courses and degrees in various range of subjects. I particularly enrolled for 'Cryptocurrency and Blockchain: An Introduction to Digital Currencies' because digital currencies are the future of tomorrow, it is the future of currency. I have always had an interest in investment, and the idea of investing in currencies and getting a huge return, in the long run, seems like a risk that is quite fun to take. I voluntarily took this course for future development so that in the future from the returns that I get I will be able to start up my own French fries business and also support my family without worrying about money being limited. I enjoyed the course quite a lot because me making notes at the same time while watching the videos, I was able to understand and intake so much information which will help me while I am executing my investments for cryptocurrencies. The course felt very easy at the start and I was able to understand vital components about what cryptocurrency is all about but as we progressed, the course started getting heavy and there was less description on a couple of big terms which I had to use a web browser to know more about. I did not feel any difficulty during the slides but the fact that the slides lacked images/ animations was annoying and frustrating. I have countless amounts of negatives about the course than positives. I honestly enjoyed the majority of the course beginning from week 1 till week 3 since it had a good laid out summary of what Cryptos and blockchain were all about, but unfortunately, I didn't enjoy any lectures from week 4 since it felt a bit out of place/ felt scripted. All parts of the course felt relevant and useful. Jessica Wachter one of the instructors did a good job in explaining most of the process of how everything works. As much as I was happy to do the whole course, the starting topic "Why Cryptocurrency" itself failed to explain to me why it was important and superior compared to gold or fiat currency. And also to mention, sadly most of the content was outdated, and this is not looking what I was looking forward to since there has been a lot of changes since 2019. Cryptocurrencies are something that changes constantly. The lessons which were taught were based on the crypto value of 2019 where Bitcoin was one of the most prominent coins which were available in the crypto market, but in recent times different versions of cryptocurrencies have been introduced which has changed the perception of the market. Hence, additional knowledge is required in dealing with recent upcoming currencies. I did not expect to learn much about this course but I can happily tell that I did. I would not say that I did not enjoy the course, the course was thoroughly interesting. It had a lot of information regarding Cryptocurrency and how to invest which was very useful for someone who is a beginner at crypto in the first place. The lessons were very text-heavy and the instructors were at a quicker phase so I frequently had to pause the video to write down my notes hence it was exasperating. I got done with this course on the 23rd of April, and to implement my learnings to the real world I invested $15 of my money on Ethereum, which is a decentralized, open-source blockchain. From the knowledge that I got I hope to understand the market and invest my money at the right time to see more growth in my investment. And yes, I am looking forward to enrolling myself for the next part of the Cryptocurrency and Blockchain series by the starting of the next week. And when I am done with that all of you can expect to read a blog on that as well.


Here's the link of the course for you to consider:

https://www.coursera.org/learn/wharton-cryptocurrency-blockchain-introduction-digital-currency


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page